TCPD Logo Town and Country Planning Department
Peninsular Malaysia

The Town and Country Planning Department of Peninsular Malaysia is affectionately known to local planners as JPBD as shown in the department's logo on the top left. It is the acronym of the department in Malay, i.e. Jabatan Perancangan Bandar dan Desa.

There are three levels in the Malaysian Town Planning Service, corresponding to the three levels of government, namely the Federal, State and Local Governments. Even though legally each of the three levels of the planning service are responsible to their respectively levels of government, in practice there is a considerable amount of movement in planning officers between the three levels. In particular, officers from the Federal JPBD are rotated to the various State JPBD Offices on "tour-of-duty".

Occassionally, federal officers are also seconded to the local government town planning departments. Incidentally, town planning departments at the local governments are NOT referred to as JBPD. Since the local government is what is called a "closed service", their planning officers are not rotated out of the local government.

The following is a brief description of the services offered by each of the three levels of the Malaysia Town Planning Service.

Federal level

The Town and Country Planning Department of Peninsular Malaysia (Headquarters) and its Regional Branch Offices undertake corporate planning, spatial planning, preparation of development plans, management services of technical resources, planning and monitoring of public parks, landscaping planning and support services.

State level
The State Town and Country Planning Department is the main advisor to the State Government in all aspects governing town and country planning It is responsible for formulating land use policies and preparation of development plans for various sectors such as housing, industries and tourism. These departments also render advise to the local authority for purposes of development control. This is carried by the preparation of lay out plans to coordinate developments, preparation of town plans, and vetting of development proposals submitted by private developers to the local authorities. The State JPBD is also the Secretariat to the State Planning Committee (SPC) set up under the Town and Country Planning Act 1976.

Local level
The planning departments of the major local authorities are independent of the other two levels. Local authorities with well established planning departments handle all matters related to town planning including control, project planning and preparing local lay out plans. Very often, the federal and state JPBD will provide additional support when requested by the local authorities.

More information about the JPBD :

Client's Charter
Organizational Structure
Contribution to the Planning Field and Development in Malaysia

Materials concerning the Town Planning Service was taken mainly from: MALAYSIA (1995), Laporan Tahunan 1994, Kuala Lumpur : Unit Bank Data, Jabatan Perancangan Bandar dan Desa Semenanjung Malaysia. (Annual Report 1994 of the JBPD)

HBP HomePage MTP HomePage
Copyright 1996 HBP of USM
Last Updated on 14 January 1996